Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training Requirements

Since the early 1990s, Connecticut has mandated sexual harassment prevention training, which was further expanded in 2019 by the state legislature and CCHRO. The updated law now extends training requirements to nearly every employee in the state, emphasizing the importance of preventing sexual harassment in the workplace.

Preview the U.S. Workplace Harassment and Discrimination Training Course

Don’t take compliance for granted. Stay informed about harassment laws and regulations in the State of Connecticut to ensure you meet your obligations.

Connecticut State-Mandated Training Requirements

Since the early 1990s, Connecticut has required most managers working in the state to receive sexual harassment prevention training. In 2019, Connecticut revised its law to require nearly all employees (including non-manager staff) working within the state to be trained on this topic. Read more…

What type of organization must provide training?  All public and private organizations with employees working in Connecticut must provide training. 
What is the minimum number of employees for training to be required? 
  • The Connecticut law applies to employers with three or more employees working in the state. 
  • The law applies even if the employer is headquartered outside Connecticut. 
How frequently must training be conducted? 
  • Connecticut requires training to be updated and re-administered once every 10 years. 
  • The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights recommends that supervisors be updated on developments in the law every three years. 
How soon must training be conducted?  The training must be conducted within six months of beginning employment. Training must be provided by January 1, 2021. 
What segments of the workforce must receive training?   Connecticut law requires employees and supervisors to receive training. 
What is the minimum duration of training?   Connecticut requires training to be at least two hours long. 
What records must be kept following training? 
  • The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights (“CCHR”) has the authority to inspect records of training. 
  • This means employers should keep reasonable records of who was trained, when the training occurred, and what type of training was conducted. 
What are potential penalties for failing to conduct training? 
  • Under Connecticut law, failing to conduct training is considered a “discriminatory act” subject to fines up to $1000. 
  • It is unclear whether the $1000 fine will be imposed “per employee.” 
What are the mandatory content requirements under Connecticut law? 

Training must be interactive and must include the following elements: 

  • A description of sexual harassment (including examples and specific statutory provisions); 
  • The verbatim definition of harassment under Connecticut state and federal law; 
  • A description of the types of conduct that constitute sexual harassment under state law including, but not limited to, the fact that a victim may be a man or a woman and same sex-harassment is illegal. 
  • Training must also provide a description of remedies available, contact information for the CCHR, a description of the complaint process, and the fact that individuals who commit acts of harassment may be liable for civil and/or criminal penalties. 
  • Training must discuss retaliation and the legal protections against this form of misconduct; 
  • Employers must describe strategies to prevent sexual harassment. 
Are there any additional training elements required by Connecticut law? 

The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) has also recommended the following elements be included in training: 

  • Training on the seriousness of harassment; 
  • Roleplay as a means of teaching; 
  • The importance of interpersonal skills; and 
  • The perceptual differences of situations between men and women 

The CHRO has also stated that learners must be able to ask questions about the training and receive answers “within a reasonable time period.” 

Are there any policy or posting requirements under Connecticut law?  Yes, Connecticut requires employers to post “in a prominent location” and make available by email to employees a copy of information concerning the illegality of sexual harassment and remedies available to victims of sexual harassment. 


Syntrio can help your organization comply with the ever-changing sexual harassment training landscape.

Preview the U.S. Workplace Harassment and Discrimination Training Course

Don’t leave compliance to chance.

Access Syntrio’s “Harassment Training Requirements in the United States and U.S. Territories” brochure today and ensure your organization meets its obligations while promoting a culture of respect and equality.

Syntrio Harassment Training Requirements in the United States and the U.S. Territories


Manage Risk, Empower Culture, and Accelerate Performance!

Enter your keyword